What I Saw When I Ran Wednesdays

For those of you who read food blogs, you will often see a “What I Ate Wednesday” post. Same idea here, except it will be what I saw when I ran on Wednesdays. So take a peek at what my orbs observed and then add your own experience!

I had another killer commute/meeting combo today and since I am back to my weather stalking ways, I was afraid that I would not get my run in after work (a midday run was possible, but sometimes our staff meetings don’t break for lunch so did not want to risk it) since the prediction was for afternoon/evening rain. I had to leave the house at 730a, which meant I was going to take a page from Sean’s running handbook and rock the pre-dawn run! Or at least, attempt to… I stayed up late last night making Lil Sis’ favorite Valentine Day cookies for her and some friends and set my alarm for 545a with high hopes but a healthy degree of skepticism that I would actually heed its call.

I don’t know about you, but I know within about .21 seconds of the alarm going off whether or not it is going to be easy to get up on an early day. I have no idea what makes the difference – did I wake up in the right part of a sleep cycle? did I know that a run would be the best part of the day? was I feeling inspired by Sean and wanting to be as badass as him? No idea, but whatever the case I did not need the 2 snooze cycles I had given myself as a buffer and up and out I went! Here is what I saw:

Not much to see at first - this is the light from my headlamp :) The sun joined the party soon enough...

Not much at first – this is the light from my headlamp 🙂 But the sun joined the party soon enough…

Oh my, that is better!

Oh my, that is better!

My imagination loved running with this image - a farmhouse with just a few warm lights on inside, just waking up for the day. In my mind, there were a few people in colonial garb pulling fresh bread out of the oven inside that kitchen. Likely, right?

My imagination loved running with this image – a farmhouse lit from within by a few warm lights. In my mind, there were people in colonial garb pulling fresh bread out of the oven inside that kitchen. I’m pretty sure that if I knocked on the door that is exactly what I would have seen, right?

Environmental rant of the day - this is EXACTLY what I am talking about when you see my mouthing off on FB about how I don't agree with using Xmas trees to stablize a beach. This is what happens more often than not  - a row of random trees, just chilling on the beach, looking as out of place as I would at a Fashion Week. They are collecting no sand and just become an eyesore. If this were a fashion magazine, the trees' eyes would be blacked out and "DON'T" would be stamped across it.

Environmental rant of the day – this is EXACTLY what I am talking about when you see my mouthing off on FB about how I don’t agree with using Xmas trees to stabilize a beach. This is what happens more often than not – a row of random trees, just chilling on the beach, looking as out of place as I would at Fashion Week. They are collecting no sand and just become an eyesore. If this were a magazine, the trees’ eyes would be blacked out and “Fashion DON’T” would be stamped across it.

Any chance I could just sit on this bench all day, I wondered? The answer was no. :)

Any chance I could just sit on this bench all day, I wondered? The answer, alas, was no.

I did not see this while running, but seriously could not handle their adorableness and had to share! My boss Kathy made these for our co-worker's birthday. Can you even stand it??

I did not see this while running, but seriously could not handle their adorableness and had to share! My boss Kathy made these for our co-worker’s birthday. Can you even stand it??

And while we are on a sugar kick, here's a picture of the cookies I made - Happy Valentine's Day everyone! Love the one you are with - doubly so if that just happens to be a box of chocolates :)

And while we are on a sugar kick, here’s a picture of the cookies I made – Happy Valentine’s Day everyone! Love the one you’re with – doubly so if that just happens to be a box of chocolates (or a tin of cookies!) 🙂

What did you see on your run today?

6 Comments

Filed under What I Saw When I Ran Wednesdays

6 responses to “What I Saw When I Ran Wednesdays

  1. Couple things:
    1) I love that you took a page from Sean’s book. That is adorable!
    2) I am sure those lovely colonial people would have offered you some bread and regaled you with stories of colonial type things.
    3) I didn’t know that they used X-mass trees to stabilize beaches….seems like a silly idea.
    4) The cookies look yummy. I get the ‘L’ but what does the other one have one have on it?

    • 1- he is the man!
      2 – mmm, warm bread after a winter run? yes, pls, colonial people!
      3 – after GD read it he said they have it there for flooding. ugh, same diff, not a good plan to me.
      4 – these are actually my parents tin – Lin and Frank 🙂 Can’t you tell that is my fancy cursive F?

  2. Linda Kisiel

    Love the pix. That’s why I run in the mornings, just to see that sky and the sun come up and the whole day ahead of you. I’ll be out and about soon. I am seeing some killer sunrises from our bedroom window, though. Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

