What I Saw When I Ran Wednesdays

For those of you who read food blogs, you will often see a “What I Ate Wednesday” post. Same idea here, except it will be what I saw when I ran on Wednesdays.  So take a peek at what my orbs observed and then add your own experience!

A late night at work tonight meant a morning run for me today. Yesterday’s crazy wind and stormy skies were still working their way out of Cape May when I ran, offering a cool breezy run that seemed to be yelling,  “Fall is coming, ain’t no way to stop this train! Chugga, chugga, woo-hoo-hoo!” ‘Twas a lovely run and here is what I saw:

New kicks! Sticking with the Brooks Glycerin. Loving the color of the 10s and the stretchy shoelaces are super fun. Fluffy ride on Day 1!

Hey buddy, cover up, your anthocyanins are showing! How scandalous.

Pumpkins on the brain! GD made these awesome pumpkin black bean enchiladas last night and I was looking longingly at this patch, wishing we could eat them again tonight! Yum!!!

Ohhhh, Lucy! The grapes are almost ready for you to stomp!

A mini-grove of persimmon trees by Lake Lily. Persimmon’s scientific name is Diospyros virginiana and now you have a way to impress your friends today!

Persimmon bark is super distinctive and easy to spot when you are out and about. The wood is hard and somewhat difficult to work with. This species can be used to make billiard cues, drumsticks, wooden flutes and longbows. Sidebar: I would like to meet someone that could utilize all those items, I bet that person would be a character!

Our native persimmon fruit is smaller than the cultivated Asian one you might see at a supermarket – but holy cow, just as delicious! You have to wait until it is ripe to eat, otherwise your mouth is in for a world of hurt, blech! It has crazy astringent properties when unripe… but when it is ready? Oh, man, watch out! The flavor is like nothing else I have tasted and has a tropical bent. This particular fruit was not long for this world and I enjoyed it immensely as I trotted around the lake!

What did you see on your run today?

Do you welcome fall with open arms or love it conditionally, knowing winter is just behind (notice that the only two options are loving fall – because let’s be honest, there can’t be anyone who lives in the northeast who does not dig this weather!)?

Leave a comment

Filed under What I Saw When I Ran Wednesdays

Leave a Reply

