Philadelphia Distraction

Yesterday was a weird mix in the Kashi/GD household – as you may recall, GD was laid off from his job last July. A week and a half ago he was offered a 2-month contract job where he would be paid pretty well, which would give us a little room to breathe. So far, so good…the catch? The work is in the Gulf, roughly ~900 miles (as the crow flies – the only measurement acceptable in our avi-loving household) from the Point. After discussing it, we decided that it was too good an opportunity for him to pass up. So yesterday, he packed himself, his pants under his pants, his optics and some Mentos and flew off to greener pastures. I am so proud of him for making the right decision for our family, but barely 24 hours into our 2.5 month separation (he already has another gig that he committed to for the first 2 weeks of April in Colorado) and the combination of that pride swirling around with ache of missing him is proving a potent mixture indeed.

These next few months are bound to be interesting on a lot of levels, not the least of which being that I am suddenly thrust back into a bachelorette lifestyle.  There are definite negatives to this, one of the most notable being that GD brings color and light to my life, and it is already dimmer without him.  But since he is going to be in the Gulf whether or not I pine for his around-the-house antics, I figure it will be best to embrace the time alone and make the most of it.

I started immediately (I’ve never been one to wait around to put a plan into action, lol). After dropping him off, I filled the rest of the day with Kashi-centric activities. Here’s what happened:

A last look of GD as he headed into the airport. He gave me a last wave and blew me a kiss - at least I think that's what happened, it was hard to make out through my tears.

A last look of GD as he headed into the airport. He gave me a last wave and blew me a kiss – at least I think that’s what happened, it was hard to see him through the crying.

So  what to do to dry my tears? Casual run in Center City, of course! I really enjoy these runs since the majority of the time I run in the city I am racing and a bundle of focus and nerves. There is not much time for sightseeing, which is a shame because combining that with running is a real delight, as evidenced below:

City Hall never fails to impress me.

City Hall never fails to impress me.

Entrance to Chinatown, so festive!

Entrance to Chinatown, so festive!

What could be better than escaping the cold, dreary streets into a warm wonderland of sights and smells??

What could be better than escaping the cold, dreary streets into a warm wonderland of sights and smells??

Valentine's Day chocolates! Yummy!

Valentine’s Day chocolates! Yummy!

While poking around the stalls, I got majorly sidetracked at this one. When I lived in Ocean City, it was not uncommon for me to go to Shriver's candy store and stand in front of the salt water taffy machine, finding it hypnotic. There is something about the repition that I found really soothing and the same was true for white choclate pretzel covering guy. I just could not walk away! I finally did when he finished the last pretzel of the tray.

Whilst poking around the stalls, I got majorly sidetracked at this one. When I lived in Ocean City, it was not uncommon for me to go to Shriver’s candy store and stand in front of the salt water taffy machine, finding it hypnotic. There is something about the repetition that I find really soothing and the same was true for white chocolate pretzel covering guy. I just could not walk away! I finally did when he finished the last pretzel of the tray, feeling calm and refreshed. Cheapest therapy on the planet!

Last stop was the grand center of Macy's. I am not much of a shopper, but I love going into this store because I feel like I am in an old-tyme movie where shopping was a downright expedition! "Department stores, what a novelty!", thinks my old-tyme self, as I pat my hair, hoping every strand was in place.

Last stop was the grand center of Macy’s. I am not much of a shopper, but I love going into this store because I feel like I am in a black and white movie when shopping was a downright expedition! “Department stores, what an adventure!”, thought my old-tyme self, as she self-consciously patted her hair and straightened her skirt.

I finished the run with a stop at the Philadelphia Runner store, then made my way over the bridge to Whole Foods, where I attempted and *maybe* succeeded just a little bit in drowning my sorrows at their amazing food bar. Ahh, bar-b-que tofu, come to momma!

Do you ever sightsee while running? What have been your favorite places to run and see?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Philadelphia Distraction

  1. Pingback: My sister, myself | Cape Island Runners

Leave a Reply

