Bahamas Bound!!

Here is an example of the kind of pictures Todd was torturing me with. This is him - menawhile, back in the trailer, I was banging my head against the wall when the internet crashed for the upteenth time. Yeah, it wasn't hard to decide to come along in 2013!

Here is an example of the kind of picture Todd was showing me. This is him – meanwhile, back in the trailer, I was banging my head against the wall when the internet crashed for the upteenth time. Yeah, it wasn’t hard to decide to come along in 2013! source

For the past two years my co-worker Todd has tortured me with pictures of Piping Plovers, sunny skies and azure water upon his return from trips to the Bahamas to see our very favorite feathered friends on their wintering grounds.  After a busy and stressful breeding season up here on the mid-Atlantic coast, they like to head south,  let their wings down, crank the calypso up and leave their cares blowing in the breeze (the pressure to reproduce as an endangered species must be intense since the future of your species literally depends on every last one of you cranking out chicks. Bird needs a drink, stat!).  Last year, after a dazzling slideshow that was shown to me in our god-forsaken trailer (yeah, our office is a trailer. It was meant to be a temporary solution – that was in 1987! These people who think state workers have it made should really come take a tour, I think they would be whistling a different tune after. But I digress…) in the middle of miserable winter I vowed that 2013 was the year I would make my way to the Bahamas and see our birdies in all their sun-soaked glory! Obviously, this is not something the state would pay for, so it’s on my own dime. With GD out of work (but good things on the horizon!), that dime has gotten pulled in more directions and it probably would be smarter to defer this trip for another year. But I just could not do it! I already have the money in savings and cannot pass up another opportunity to see those cuties in paradise. Besides, I could be hit by a bus before then and I don’t want my last thought to be “nooooo!! but I never got to see plovies in the Bahamas!!!” This solves that problem nicely (unless I get hit by said bus between now and Wednesday, but who could have predicted that?!).

This beautiful gal in known as Bahama Mama (we're a creative group, what can I say!). She was banded in the Bahamas in 2010 and has been seen in the same wintering and breeding spots every year since. We last saw her at North Brigantine in September, so as long as she made it through migration, we should be able to see her by Wednesday afternoon on Grand Bahama. Yahoo!!

This beautiful gal is known as Bahama Mama (we’re a creative group, what can I say?). She was banded in the Bahamas in 2010 and has been seen in the same wintering and breeding areas every year since. We last saw her at North Brigantine in September so as long as she made it through migration we should be able to see her by Wednesday afternoon on Grand Bahama. Yahoo!!

So on the 16th  myself, Todd, Emily (she ran with us this summer but lives down south in the winter- CANNOT wait to see this girl!) and Tom (a seasonal of ours and easily the best birder among us. You may also know him from Tom Reads with Tom Reed, his hit show) fly the friendly skies and start our adventure.

I hope to blog from the islands so if you don’t hear from me one of two things has happened. One, there was no internet connection for me to get my hands on. Two, I have permission from the sports doc to try running beginning on Wednesday and if I run and still have pain, I may spiral into a deep depression, rendering me unable to complete simple tasks such as tying my shoes or writing blog posts. I have such mixed feelings about this first run – excitement mixed with fear. I want so, so badly to be running again. I miss it with that deep ache that comes with missing an actual person. I fall asleep  thinking about it, wake up thinking about it and spend lots of time in between doing the same. It has been easy to think “ok, back to the pool. Don’t worry, you be running again in no time! The 16th isn’t too far away!” But what if the 16th comes, running commences and pain does too? I can’t think about it too long because I find it too upsetting. This is part of the reason I think trying in the Bahamas is a good plan – even if it hurts and more time off is needed, I will be in the BAHAMAS! How bad can life be when you are tromping around a new place looking for banded plovers? Oh, and that place happens to be gorgeous and the temperature 80 degrees? If that can’t distract me from the running blues, I’ll kindly ask Em to give me a slap in the face and yell “Snap out of it, Kashters!”

Keep your fingers crossed for me, k? I hope to report good news soon. If not, get ready for more shots of swimming and rehabbing! Not the best outcome, but the road I will follow if it will eventually lead me back to running.

What was a run that you were afraid to go on?

2 Comments

Filed under Travel

2 responses to “Bahamas Bound!!

  1. Linda Kisiel

    When I injured my foot last year and then was in my taper phase, I was so scared i would hurt myself again before the half mary. But i didn’t and i completed my first one. so … just go lightly and all my love and running vibes will be with you. You got this, Chris. love you.

Leave a Reply

