What I Saw When I Ran Wednesdays

For those of you who read food blogs, you will often see a “What I Ate Wednesday” post. Same idea here, except it will be what I saw when I ran on Wednesdays.  So take a peek at what my orbs observed and then add your own experience!

I actually pretty happy I am on rest detail right now, given the incredibly nasty day it is out there! I did see one guy running this AM with his dog and a big ‘ol smile on his face. I theorized that he either just recovered from an injury and was happy to be running no matter the conditions OR Santa hooked him up with some awesome water repellant running gear that he was psyched to try. No way, no how he was just out for a regular run with that kind of smile on this kind of day!

I spent my morning at the docs, looking at my MRI results. More good news is that there is nothing on there or the X-ray to suggest that something major is wrong. For soft tissue, he generally suggests 6 weeks off and since it has been 3 weeks since my last run, he thought I should give it another 3 and try then.  If you  consult a calendar, you will see that 3 weeks from now is January 16th, which just happens to be the day I land in the Bahamas to look for wintering Piping Plovers which just happens to be a country I need for my run list!!!!!!!!!!!!  I am taking this as a sign that the plovies will be my magic elixir back to running health! Here’s hoping!

Hello doctor's office! Nice to see you on this yucky, nasty morning when I am nursing a cookie hangover.

Hello doctor’s office! Nice to see you on this yucky, nasty morning when I am nursing a cookie hangover.

Ohh, my MRI results! I feel like this is the board game Clue and the answer to whodunit are inside! It was a dumb runner at the marathon with the quadriceps! I knew it!

Ohh, my MRI results! I feel like this is the board game Clue and the answer to whodunit is inside! It was a dumb runner at the marathon with the inability to make a smart decision to DNS! I knew it!

I kept myself busy waiting for the doc learning about arthritis of the knee. Hey doctors of the world, slightly more interesting wall materials would not be a bad thing. I'm picturing something like "20 things you never knew about the human body" and it could include things like ~8% of human DNA is from a virus and not our ancestors, a fact I recently learned while reading the excellent Violinist's Thumb.

I kept myself busy waiting for the doc learning about arthritis of the knee. Hey doctors of the world, slightly more interesting wall materials would not be a bad thing. I’m picturing something like “20 things you never knew about the human body” and it could include things like ~8% of human DNA is from a virus and not our ancestors, a fact I recently learned while reading the excellent Violinist’s Thumb.

This is what one slice of my right hip looks like! Wowies! Not a stress fracture or too much unwanted fluid in sight - super cool! Guys, I love science.

This is what one slice of my right hip looks like! Wowies! Not a stress fracture or too much unwanted fluid in sight – super cool! Guys, I love science.

What did you see on your run today?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized, What I Saw When I Ran Wednesdays

4 responses to “What I Saw When I Ran Wednesdays

  1. Yay!!! So glad that its nothing major and, look at that! you are half way through your recovery already!

    As for the Bahamas thing….I am jealous!!! Enjoy the heck out of that!!!
    Love you

    • done and done! yeah, i am pretty sure when you have no money the best idea is to go to the bahamas! but it is a trip i have planned for nearly a year and am so looking forward to…just gonna have to eat eggs and cereal for dinner for like a month to help pay for it, lol!

  2. Linda Kisiel

    Well actually I ran Saturday. It was delightful I used my Garmin (Paris) and found out that I haven’t been running 3 miles but 3.06. I also saw my new running friend Karen, who started walking and has been running 2-3 miles a few times a week. I’m so proud of her. I saw snow that day, just starting as I was ending. Chris, Jan. 16th in the Bahamas sounds wonderful. Listen to the running gods, they know their stuff.

Leave a Reply

