What I Saw When I Ran Wednesdays – Holiday Lights Edition!

For those of you who read food blogs, you will often see a “What I Ate Wednesday” post. Same idea here, except it will be what I saw when I ran on Wednesdays.  So take a peek at what my orbs observed and then add your own experience!

Blah, blah, I went to the sports doctor today, blah, blah, it’s not a stress fracture (praise Jesus!), need an MRI to rule out anything major but probably just need more rest and some PT, blah,blah, chiropractor tomorrow. Ok, with that business out of the way, let’s get to the Christmas lights! I did not run past any of these, but I did drive past them on my way home from the pool 🙂

I've driven past this house for a few weeks now and appreciate how dedicated they are to covering every inch of their property with festiveness. I did not realize until tonight, though, that it was a multi-sensory experience. Pulling down the window, I noticed that one of the decorations doubles as a music box. I'm not sure who it is for, but I enjoyed it!

I’ve driven past this house for a few weeks now and appreciate how dedicated they are to covering every inch of their property with festiveness. I did not realize until tonight, though, that it was a multi-sensory experience. Pulling down the window, I noticed that one of the decorations doubles as a music box. I’m not sure who it is for, but I enjoyed it!

Victorian Cape May suteness!

Victorian Cape May cuteness!

My mom went through a phase (maybe still? can't remember!) where she covered the tress in red bows. Whenever I see them, I think of holidays from my teen years, opening perfect gifts that she had picked out - clothes from the Gap and Express, Tori Amos CDs, Calvin and Hobbes books and all sorts of other goodies. Thanks for all those years, mom.

Awhile ago, my Mom started decorating her tree with red bows. Whenever I see them, I think of holidays at my parents house, opening perfect gifts that she and my dad picked out – beloved stuffed animals, board games, movies,  my first CD player, big girl jewelry, a TV for my room, clothes from the Gap and Express, Tori Amos and They Might Be Giants music, books, books, books and a stocking filled with goodies (that changed year to year, but always, always included a toothbrush, Avon chapstick, lifesavers and an orange at the bottom). I know all Mom wanted was to give us the Christmases she never had and she succeed beyond all measure. Thanks you for all those years, Mom and Dad. I cherished all those gifts, but what lives on in me still is a special brand of coziness that only this particular combination of Kisiels can create.

One of my favorite houses on Sunset Blvd.

One of my favorite houses on Sunset Blvd.

My very favorite thing to do at Christmas is to lay under a lit tree and look up. I was a lazy bum and did not put up a tree this year, but thanks to the folks who decorated trees at the circle, I still managed to get this tradition in this year.

My very favorite thing to do at Christmas is to lay under a lit tree and look up. I was a lazy bum and did not put up a tree this year, but thanks to the folks who decorated trees at the Circle, I still managed to get this tradition in this year.

What did you see on your run today?

What are your favorite Christmas lights? Did you put up a tree this year?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized, What I Saw When I Ran Wednesdays

4 responses to “What I Saw When I Ran Wednesdays – Holiday Lights Edition!

  1. Linda Kisiel

    I love the lights on our street. When I turn onto the street, I get a very warm feeling. It’s home. I’ll be running outside tomorrow early, I think, Brrr! I’ll post what I see then. Merry Christmas.

Leave a Reply

