What I Saw When I Ran Wednesdays

For those of you who read food blogs, you will often see a “What I Ate Wednesday” post. Same idea here, except it will be what I saw when I ran on Wednesdays.  So take a peek at what my orbs observed and then add your own experience!

Today’s run is brought to you by the letter “D”. Disappointed. Deflated. Dejected. Dastardly. Some might say Dramatic (as in my reaction, not some super exciting event that took place during the run). I’ve been resting, rolling, heating, went to an ART session (have another booked for tomorrow), did a proper warm-up for this run and still… still my quad nags at me. I was on cloud 9 for the first .50 mile of this run as I felt fantastic and SO HAPPY to be running. But by .82,  that familiar tightness showed up in my right quad. I ran for a minute or so more and when it was clear it was not going away, so I started walking (no pain with walking). I walked for a bit, then tried running again and nope, not any better (I like how runners do this – “hmm, let’s see it’s been about 3 minutes. That ought to be enough rest to see some real improvement!”) . This is when I started crying and got a little dramatic. I knew this is what I was risking when I ran the marathon, but it’s still a bitch to pay the piper. My ART guy, Scottie O (man, one thing this blog does not need is more Scotts to keep track of! But I love each of them, so they all are gonna stay. And this one is a great ART therapist, highly recommend him!) does not think that whatever is tweaked out is a major injury, so that is a plus. But it is enough that running is not in the cards today. Ah well, it was still a gorgeous day, and I saw these things through my tears:

I even did a Lunge Matrix before starting! It made me remember that lunges make me weak in the knees, but in that good way that you say “ohh, I did something!”

Ironically, my run ended at this cemetery. Not funny. Too soon, running gods, too soon.

Giant, pretty Christmas balls. I likes!

Yup, that’s a sink under a tree. Not from the hurricane, just part of their landscaping. It definitely beats gnomes and those weird oracle balls that people are fond of, but I am not sure I get it. I sorta wanted to knock on their door and inquire – maybe one day I will work up the nerve to.

What did you see on your run today?

2 Comments

Filed under What I Saw When I Ran Wednesdays

2 responses to “What I Saw When I Ran Wednesdays

  1. Linda Kisiel

    Scott O. sounds like the right guy to help you. I’m thinking positive thoughts. Love you.

Leave a Reply

