What I Saw When I Ran Wednesdays

For those of you who read food blogs, you will often see a “What I Ate Wednesday” post. Same idea here, except it will be what I saw when I ran on Wednesdays.  So take a peek at what my orbs observed and then add your own experience!

Today was more like “What I Saw When I Walked Wednesdays”. Le sigh. I took a full week off and by Saturday had no pain in my groin. I gave it until yesterday before I tried running and went for a very conservative 2-miler- 1 mile of which went very well! But suddenly, somewhere early in mile two, I started to feel some tightness in my right quad that just got worse as I continued. It definitely was not my groin, but felt like something was not right in my quad- not pulled per se but very, very tight. Hmm. Later that night I  happened to be reading Amby Burfoot’s excellent article in Runner’s World about longevity in running – he has been running for 50+ years so I tend to believe he knows what he is talking about! Of course, there was a whole section about injury prevention/treatment and of course it highlighted the importance of backing off when injuries flare up and of course I wanted to ignore it… but then I again thought back to the speech I gave myself at mile 23 of the race which was “don’t give up, don’t give up… body, if you don’t give up I promise, promise, promise you I will take good care of you afterwards”. So I am resigning myself to a bit more time off, as I have BIG plans for the spring (more to come on that!) and must be ready to train all winter. For once, I am going to be smart and heal properly. Whether I can do that without going completely insane is another matter all together but at the very least I will show my body that when I make a promise, I keep it. So here is what I saw on my walk (happily, the pain does not rear up when walking):

No run today, just a walk at lunch at Tuckahoe

Walking along means you can check out bark on trees, so that is a plus.

The sky also cheered me up – yesterday was so dreary that I really appreciated the return of the sunshine today 🙂

Part two of my walk (it was like a double day in running except a lot easier) was this evening with GD under the watchful gaze of the gorgeous moon, Jupiter and the lighthouse.

What did you see on your run today?

When was the last time you were injured? How did you cope?

4 Comments

Filed under What I Saw When I Ran Wednesdays

4 responses to “What I Saw When I Ran Wednesdays

  1. My run was a metaphorical one through the world of middle school. I saw lots of texting, eye rolling, giggling and UGGs. There was also some quiz taking and a fair amount of whining. But I survived. Mine is more of am emotional cardio…lol.

    The last time I was injured is was a tight/pulled muscle in my calf. It hurt like hell and I couldn’t manage anything more than a medium walk until it was completely healed. I had a massage scheduled and was actually surprised at how much that helped it. The masseuse worked that area and my calf felt so much better afterwards.

    Good luck with it, honey. I think you are on the right track with resting and giving your body time to recover fully. I am very curious about what you have coming for the spring.

    🙂

    • owies! i would love to get a massage right now, but lack of funds is not helping that cause! esp bc mr. poppy decided a $500 visit to the vet was in order. oh, bunnies! ohhh, i did not tell you about my spring plan yet??? remind me to next phone call

  2. Linda Kisiel

    I’ve been on the injured list since last year with my foot. I didn’t do the right things quickly enough. I am now getting the help I need. Iurge all runners/walkers to seek out a sports. dr. they really are different and if they are runners, so much the better. I run on the tm during the week, so i see my wall. But i am learning mental running through my tm. You’r never too old or a seasoned runner to listen to your body.

Leave a Reply

