Eve of the Eve

‘Twas the night before marathon weekend and all through the house,

Carbs were being loaded, compliments of my insanely adorable cooking spouse.

I admit that I don’t get the same thrill from Christmas as I did as a child, but I still experience those same sensations of December 25ths of days gone by on marathon weekend. This one is especially exciting since I am sharing the experience with a fantastic group of friends and my husband. Tonight we came together under the benevolent eye of the lighthouse and spent a few hours in the way that only runners before a big race can – by stuffing our bellies with stupid good food, sharing stories of races gone by and fears for the one to come.

We feasted on this beautiful pre-race meal – roasted acorn squash stuffed with black beans and veggies, topped with a poblano sauce and chipolte adobo pulled chicken. And yes, it was as amazing as it sounds! Ice cream, ginger cookies and chickpea blondies for dessert, accompanied by some bubbly, beer and Gatorade 🙂

We popped the race map up on our tv and geeked out to all things course, gear and clothing related.

“Make new friends, but keep the old. One is silver and the other gold.” Oh, Girl Scouts, how right you were! A runnerific night bringing together some of my favorites.

We spent the night celebrating the runners we are (and have become!!) and when we said good-bye to our friends, I felt just as I had many times as a child on Christmas Eve… wrapped in a warm cocoon of happiness and love, contentment in this moment mixed with unbridled excitement for what is to come. Now, if I could only figure out the marathon equivalent of laying on my back and staring up into a starlit tree.

What are some of your pre-race meals?

Do you still feel the same about Christmas/Hanukkah/holidays as you used to?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Eve of the Eve

  1. Meg

    First…who is that bean pole in the first picture? Wowzers. Second…I love you all and feel the happiness you describe just knowing you all shared good food, great vibes and lots of love. What a great experience you all have fostered.

    As for prerace meals…I love a homemade chicken vegetable pasta; not too far off from what you describe. But, when I am traveling, I have eaten at restaurants, which I do not like quite as much.

    As for holidays, I do not feel the same as I did when I was a kid, exactly. But, there is still a familiar feeling of warmth and excitement. I love love love the holidays. Good food everywhere and a social movement to visit friends and family. Score!

    Good luck to you all!! Can’t wait to hear al about it!

    • Thank you Meg! I am the same as you with that I prefer my own food (well, GD’s, lol) but if I go to a restaurant, I like it to be one I have been to (Kashi approved, if you will!).
      I will feel all cozy and happy when you guys are here next month! Yes!!

  2. Linda Kisiel

    Chicken and potatoes works best for me. I’m experimenting next year with food before I race. We’ll see. Yes, I still love Christmas as much as I used to. It gives me a peaceful, easy feeling. Thanks to the group, The Eagles.

Leave a Reply

