What I Saw When I Ran Wednesdays

For those of you who read food blogs, you will often see a “What I Ate Wednesday” post. Same idea here, except it will be what I saw when I ran on Wednesdays.  So take a peek at what my orbs observed and then add your own experience!

I am not sure if I am crazy or lucky with these storms and running.  Strike that, I KNOW I am lucky in terms of Sandy and so far with Athena (as Melissa asked “since when are we naming winter storms??”) in the big picture – we have our home, electricity, no loss of belongings, etc.  But I have also been lucky in terms of the timing with my runs. The worst of Sandy was a Monday, always a rest day for me and I was able to get in my Sunday and Tuesday around her monsterness. Today I thought for sure I might have to bag my outdoor run and give in to the lure of the warm, dry dreadmill but then Athena, in her infinite wisdom, decided to let those beautiful snowflakes fly! The prospect of a windy, cold, rainy run suddenly morphed into a windy, cold, snowy run and I used my infinite wisdom to declare “game on!”.  During a late lunch break, I managed to squeak in 4 miles around the Tuckahoe Wildlife Management Area without getting too cold or too wet – or at least not so much as to care considering the beautiful landscape I ran through! Here is what I saw on this odd November day:

There is a certain gleeful joy that comes with being the wacky person in the office that MUST go for a run during a snowstorm 🙂

It was seriously hard to believe it was November 7th today!

I didn’t do a great job of keeping the drops off the lens. In my defense,the wind was howling and I could not feel my fingers for the first 2 miles!

Buuut, it all worked out because the drops made this shot all artsy. It’s like the days before filters on iPhones!

“Hi! It’s 2 miles in and snow is accumulating on my hat and this zipper is making my chin brrrr but dang, this is fun!”

“Fall, say hello to Winter. Winter, this is Fall”… it’s not often the seasons butt up against one another in such an absolute fashion. Very cool, but has not swayed me from wishing it were still Summer!

But I have to give it to Winter – snowflakes on your tongue is pretty charming. Well done, Winter, well done.

Did Athena ruin your running plans today?

What did you see on your run?

PS I know the seasons are not technically proper nouns, but I think of them as their own little people,  so they get capitalized on this blog!

4 Comments

Filed under What I Saw When I Ran Wednesdays

4 responses to “What I Saw When I Ran Wednesdays

  1. Linda Kisiel

    Good job with the pix. It looks lovely. I am going out on Saturday to my Parvin. It will be 60 and lovely. I gave myself a little break and I feel the better for it. So, I hope to see some beautiful fall-winter scenes on Saturday. I’m ready.

Leave a Reply

