Scenes from Sandy

They say Sandy was the storm of a lifetime and I hope they are right. The  destruction left in her path is truly mind boggling for someone who has called the Jersey Shore home for nearly 15 years.  It’s an odd feeling, escaping disaster by the skin of your teeth, but that is just what we did here in Cape May. Unlike the rest of the coast, we avoided most of problems that are plaguing other communities and had a relatively uneventful hurricane experience. We choose, against advisement, to ride out the storm on the second story apartment of Scott, along with Tiff and Samsters.

The dichotomy of feeling cozied up with your nearest and dearest, with electricity and near gourmet meals provided by Scott against the dire images and texts/Facebook messages we were getting from friends and loved ones was intense. These feelings only grew today as we made our way back to our little cottage and found that Mother Nature left her intact (minus a roof ornament that blew down, but that is hardly worth mentioning). I unpacked us back into our regular life,  breathing with relief as I pulled on my running clothes for a 9 miler. I trotted through our little town, the images of other locales on the coast juxtaposed with what my eyes were seeing – some downed trees, lots of leaves but no actual problems. No road ripped up like in Avalon and Longport, no roller coaster in the ocean like Seaside, no sheds floating down the road like in Stone Harbor, no Asbury Ave underwater like in Ocean City, no hole where the boardwalk should be like in Atlantic City. My sadness for our coast today is settling into my bones, here for the long haul. I wish everything were as ok for everyone else tonight as it is for us in our little bubble in Cape May. Nights like this really make me wonder about luck and fate and climate and fear and hope.

Here is what Hurricane Sandy looked like from a Cape May perspective:

The sign on Sunday at the entrance to Cape May Point. I appreciated the politeness of the request with the word “Please”.

We toiled way the hours with video games, movies, work (yep, I actually found it really easy to work with all the chatter- I love background noise!), and near obsessive level check-ins on Facebook and weather sites.

Our only drama was the three leaks the roof sprang. Superfriends in action with nary a butt crack in sight!

This was near the peak of the storm and about as nasty as it got for us. Not too bad!

A sampling of Scott’s versatility in the kitchen – leg of lamb. During our stay he also made deboned chicken stuffed with chard apple stuffing, french toast, homemade chicken soup and biscuits, a pear/apple tart and had many apps/wine/ to keep everyone’s taste buds VERY content! Ladies, he is single!! For reals, this dude is no joke and a CATCH (sorry, Scott, not trying to embarrass but I have decided to promote myself  to chief advertiser 🙂 )

There were some downed trees and flooded streets, but for the most part, Cape May looked like this Tuesday morning.

And the main event! The primary reason we stayed in Cape May was for hurricane birding (well, for GD – I am more a “pop in and check out the birds, say hi to birders and then do other stuff” kind of girl). GD and company spent from about 8am til sunset tonight staring at the Delaware Bay for birds that were caught in the storm and pushed out of their normal range. They had a fantastic day – in fact, GD is sitting beside me right now, flipping though a Sibley and reliving it. He’s already planning to go out again at sunrise tomorrow.

The merry little band joined a larger but just as merry band of birders at Sunset Beach, the go-to hurricane birding hotspot (they were at Higbees first b/c the road to Sunset was closed earlier for downed wires in the Point).

The ocean and lighthouse through the window of the still standing gazebo at 2nd Ave Jetty.

I post this tonight with a heavy heart and love to everyone out there affected by Sandy. We’ll get thought this, one tide at a time.

If you want to help, you can text REDCROSS to 90999 and they will tack on $10 to your phone bill. Easy-peasy.

How did Sandy affect you?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Scenes from Sandy

  1. Like you, we came through it will no damage at all. Our house took the storm like the 100 year old champion that she is, we never lost power (it flickered for a few seconds but that was it), the errant tree branches that fell down fell next to, not on, our cars and Zoe even slept through the night. Much of my town is without power yet we are not, the road to Ridgefield Park (RP) where my Dad lives, were clear.

    RP is in bad shape, no power and no hope of it being restored anytime soon. Lots of trees down and homes damaged, but even my Dad’s house came through it with no problems…save for a startling lack of electricity. (My father, who has no electricity, no heat, no phone, no cell phone, and medication that requires refrigeration still refuses to come over to our house. In that vein Sandy is having quite a negative emotional effect regarding my relationship with/responsibility to my father, but I think that will need an entirely different blog)

    Storm or no storm I have had three days of getting to be with Sean and Zoe and that is always a good thing:)

    Its heartbreaking to see all the damage from the storm. I too have a special place in my heart for the Jersey shore and I hate to think of it being destroyed. I know that the boardwalks will be rebuilt but that is so daunting to think of right now. My heart goes out to all those people who have lost their homes or whose homes have been damaged.

    Wait…what was the question? Did I answer it? 😉

Leave a Reply

