What I Saw When I Ran Wednesdays

For those of you who read food blogs, you will often see a “What I Ate Wednesday” post. Same idea here, except it will be what I saw when I ran on Wednesdays.  So take a peek at what my orbs observed and then add your own experience!

Belleplain State Forest is a gorgeous tract of land that is just far enough off my commute route that I don’t manage to run there nearly enough. But at least one day every autumn the combination of fall colors and mild weather stirs within me the desire to veer off that 31 mile route and head a little west to this gem. As I ran through the trails and roads, I could not help but click through my Kodak carousel of memories – taking a nature walk with a group in my late teens when I was starting to realize that an environmental degree might be a better path for me, CLICK, a date with a delightful, but dirty,  fellow Carrie nicknamed “Pigpen” who made us a great meal in his campfire and introduced me to quinoa for the first time, CLICK, birding with another delightful and quite a bit cleaner fellow nicknamed GD who pointed out spring warblers as I struggled to keep up with his fast ID’s, CLICK, and today…

Horses!!

Belleplain has regular cute lil cabins, but if you wanna channel your inner nomadic central Asian, try a yurt!

Starting in the late 1970s, people started incorporating yurts into ski resorts, parks and the like. A fun alternative to a wood cabin, especially if you don’t like sharp corners or 90 degree angles 🙂

I was feeling tired during the run (whoa, peak marathon training is no joke) and just wanted to stop and get lost in these colors for awhile. So, I did 🙂

When I was a little girl, a major component of my dad’s “stranger danger” talks was to stay away from windowless vans. To this day, Lil Sis and I steer clear. I did not have a particular route in mind while running, but you can bet your bottom dollar, heck even your top dollar, that I ran the opposite direction of this van!

Every which way you looked, a new path beckoned you to run down it. I felt a little like a mouse in a maze, so many options!

The smell of a lake and fallen leaves in fall makes me feel like it is cross-country season. I miss Parvins on days like this!

I find roots to be very Halloweenie! Spoooooooky!

I spot some woodpecker’s favorite tree!

What was on your carousel today?

How was your run?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under What I Saw When I Ran Wednesdays

2 responses to “What I Saw When I Ran Wednesdays

  1. Will

    That looks like a really pretty run. I especially like the mouse in the maze photo. Jealous!

Leave a Reply

