Shuffling Up The Shuffle

source

I realized on my runs this week that I was hitting “skip” to enough songs that it is time to make like Lance and inject some fresh blood into my playlist (too soon? I only kid to hide my dismay. I held onto hope for so long, but alas, I have to shake the sand out of my hair). Where to go to find new songs? Fellow runners, of course! So I asked some what their flavor of the week and perennial favorites were are here is what they had to say:

Lil Sis

Flavor of the Week Dog Days of Summer by Florence and the Machine (I love this one too, thanks to sissy!)

Perennial Favorite Crazy Little Thing Called Love by Queen

Sherry

Flavor of the Week – a tie between  Born 2 Run by 7 Lions (ohhh, good lyrics!!) and Beer Money by Kip Moore

Perennial Favorite California Love by 2Pac

Melissa

Flavor of the Week Against the Wind by Bob Seger (which she reports is “appropriate right now” – must be windy out west!)

Perennial Favorite(s) Sweet Disposition by the Temper Trap, Imma Be by Black Eyed Peas and Juicy by Notorious B.I.G. (“Get a grip, motherfucker” might just be my new mantra)

Scott – AKA a man of few words

Flavor of the Week – anything Queen

Perennial Favorite – anything Queen

Carrie

Flavor of the Week My Body by Young the Giant (this also got a nod from Melissa)

Perennial Favorite One by U2 and Mary J Blige

Kat

Flavor of the Week We Are Young by Fun. (this is a flavor I am enjoying as well!)

Perennial Favorite Kick album by INXS  (who knew people we still listening to whole albums? old skool, I likes!)

Lizzy

Flavor of the Week A Dustland Fairytale by The Killers (Lizzy reports that this starts slow but gets better for working out, so hang in there with it!)

Perennial Favorite Not My Time by Three Doors Down and How Far We’ve Come by Matchbox Twenty

Kashi

Flavor of the Week That’s What’s Up by Edward Sharpe and Magnetic Zeroes (I recommend clapping along, the people driving by will appreciate your enthusiasm/ something weird to look at while commuting. Also, if anyone is engaged, please play this at your wedding. I would have but it didn’t exist during ours. But you can be sure I’ll be blasting it in the Kashi/GD household this Monday!)

Perennial Favorite –  Pon de Replay by Rhianna (I’m a sucker for “run” lyrics)

I love all these suggestions and I bet you will too! Go forth and download!

What are some of your favorite tunes to rock out to?

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Shuffling Up The Shuffle

  1. Bel

    OK, my Flavor of the Week (well, the whole summer, really) is Call Me Maybe by Carly Rae Jepsen. Fun song, it was blaring all over both Color Runs and therefore it will forever be associated with running for me. It’s gotta go soon though, it’s been a good ride and I want to kill it before I want to kill it for good. My Perennial Favorite (at least so far…ask me again next year! Ha!) is I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles) by The Proclaimers. It’s ridiculous but I can’t help myself! There was also some weird switch up with my playlists (not sure what happened), but on the day of the Spotswood 5K one of the random songs that came on was Melissa Etheridge’s I Run for Life – not even something I would ever think of putting on a playlist really because of the total obviousness and propensity to be cheesy, but it kinda worked…I started to feel myself getting tired and then this song came on I was confused but it’s kinda hard to not keep pushing when a chick is rocking out about beating cancer.

    So there you have it. I am really interested to see what I have for next year…I’ll have to find a way to bookmark this post so I can come back to it…

    • capeislandrunners

      i likes! 500 miles was on my playlist when it forst came out for months, very good running tune 🙂 it really is neat to track the songs that have staying power (i literally still listen to whitney houston’s it’s not right but it’s ok, which i heard in step class in 1999 and it is still part of my regular list!) and ones that you can never listen to again, even after yrs!

  2. Linda Kisiel

    Favorite running songs, Here comes the hot stepper, Rocky Theme, Philadelphia Freedom and perennial favorite, defying gravity from wicked. I always take off when I hear it.

  3. Becky Sharkey

    I was just thinking i need to upgrade my workout play list! It’s really been way too long. I have to say, i always go back to Madonna! either Ray of light or Hung Up! I also love Love and Memories by OAR!

Leave a Reply

