What I Saw When I Ran Wednesdays

For those of you who read food blogs, you will often see a “What I Ate Wednesday” post. Same idea here, except it will be what I saw when I ran on Wednesdays.  So take a peek at what my orbs observed and then add your own experience!

Today I went for an early run and either: A) managed to time travel back to summer or B) managed to not notice that my body was transported somewhere southern while sleeping. These are the only two explanations for the humid, sticky run that took place in October! I know each year we gets last gasps of summer, but this morning was a really odd feeling one. I had a hard workout yesterday so took it extra easy as I loped around the Point. Here is what I saw while I tried to distract my mind from it’s constant drum of “wow, sure am tired, stopping would be awfully nice!”:

That little “V” shape flying low over the tree is an Osprey with a fish, adding to the overall summer feel of the morning.

The stickiness had me feeling extra annoyed by people who did not get the sprinkler memo. It goes something like this: “TO: People of the world for whom wasting water seems to be of no concern FROM: Kashi MEMO: When it rains for the past 24 straight hours, the last thing your lawn needs in the morning (particularly when weather.com reports 100% humidity) is to be watered! You live in a country where an exciting weekend trip to Lowe’s can result in the purchase of a water sensor.  It can be used to prevent the completely ridiculous, needless, makes me want to smack some sense into you and then make you walk miles for fresh water just to see what it is like, sprinkling of your saturated lawn. Cease and desist or I will make a citizen’s arrest. Crime – idiocy. Sentence – yellow, dry lawn for 3 years. Thank you.”

Plant of the week: Rhus copallinum, winged sumac. The “winged” part comes from the leafstalk’s “wings”. It’s a delightful native plant, and it’s tangy fruit can be made into a festive pink lemonade-like drink. Or you can just suck on the drupes (fruit) and spit them out as you run. To each their own!

This random mix of “totems” looks way wackier when taken out of context from the rest of the mini-golf place that they reside. I like them better this way!

What did you see on your run today?

On a scale of 1-10, how sweaty were you out there?

I was a solid 8 and that was only because the run was easy. Throw some intervals in there and it would have been 10 city!

Leave a comment

Filed under What I Saw When I Ran Wednesdays

Leave a Reply

