What I Saw When I Ran Wednesdays – Olympia, WA Edition

For those of you who read food blogs, you will often see a “What I Ate Wednesday” post. Same idea here, except it will be what I saw when I ran on Wednesdays.  So take a peek at what my orbs observed and then add your own experience!

Last run in the Pacific Northwest before we head home! We got unbelievably lucky with the weather – I know August is the driest time out here, but it literally did not rain on us at all! Yesterday it sprinkled for about 5 minutes and then the sun came back out in time for our last birding excursion at Nisqually NWR where we were quite excited to find a Black Phoebe. For my part, I documented the bird with this incredible picture:

Yeah, try not to be jealous of my digi-scoping skills. Nothing like a blurry picture to get people excited about a bird!

I set out this AM on a fall preview run – weather.com reported that it was 46dF at the start! I set out into the chilly air in shorts, armed with a camera and this is what I saw:

Right outside our hotel was this cute lil BBQ area. We saw people taking advantage of it last night.

We did not stay in downtown Olympia, so I found this University near our hotel to spend my miles in. The Abbey sounded very intriguing.

The campus featured some single-track trails, which I really want to like, I do. They look so very pretty every time I see them in a RW spread and invoke feelings of running in the wild. But then I get on them and I feel like my gait changes in an uncomfortable way, like my hips and knees turn in to keep my feet on the line. This happen to anyone else?

The presence of the Abbey made for great sights this AM, including these along the woods. They appeared to tell the story of Jesus’ crucification, but I can’t be sure since I only saw numbers X and XI 🙂

The doors of the abbey were exquisite.

There were a lot of real-life monks on the campus, but it seemed rude to photograph them, so you’ll have to settle for this guy. I like the way the statue’s robes were flowing–that’s exactly what the real ones looked like. However, I am pleased to report that none of the actual monks I saw looked this glum. Perhaps it was the raven on his shoulder bringing him down?

What did you see on your run today?

Have you ever visited a monastery? Fantasized about being a monk?

5 Comments

Filed under Pacific Northwest, Travel, What I Saw When I Ran Wednesdays

5 responses to “What I Saw When I Ran Wednesdays – Olympia, WA Edition

  1. Bel

    Fun! I’ve never been out west & I always wonder what weather is like elsewhere 🙂 As an ex-Catholic girl, I can tell you that the totems you saw were the Stations of the Cross. There should have been 14 of them, and you are right, they tell the story of the crucifixion.

    • Ahhh, thank you! I wish I had time to track them all down, they were quite beautiful. Even though I am non-religious, I am quite taken by the imagery.
      You should take a trip out west, it is so pretty and different from our neck of the woods!

  2. Chris Deets

    Regarding the blurry bird pic: don’t sell yourself short- they seem to work pretty well getting people interested in Bigfoot!

Leave a Reply

