What I Saw When I Ran Wednesdays

For those of you who read food blogs, you will often see a “What I Ate Wednesday” post. Same idea here, except it will be what I saw when I ran on Wednesdays.  So take a peek at what my orbs observed and then add your own experience!

Early 4-miler for me today because we are going on vaccccccaaaaatttion!!!! GD and I will be gone for a week, tromping around the Pacific Northwest. I wish I could be more specific, but I actually have no idea where we are going to be. I am usually a complete trip planner, it’s literally one of my favorite things to do, but this trip snuck up on us and there has been no time for plans (gasp!). So we decided to try a spontaneous vacation – I will either lose my mind from being rudderless (yup, I really am that into plans and routines!) or will come back as a whole new Kashi, one who embraces the unknown and thrives on a haphazard schedule (I will pause here to let Lil Sis recover from hysterical laughter…… ok, moving on). Either way, marathon training stops for no (wo)man,  so look for posts chronicling my runs through at least one new state (Washington) and a new country (Canada).  Yahooooo!!!!

But before those adventures , here is what I saw on my last NJ run this week:

Summer is waning and daybreak is a little later every day – I was out the door at 6:03a and I beat the sun today.

A waving flag signals a breeze! This was a welcome change from the still mornings of late.

This TNC site was the first place I worked with piping plovers, back in 2011. After the awesomeness that was the Plover Olympics last night, this sign brought an extra smile to my face this morning.

Over the past few weeks this has become my favorite farm stand. They have a dizzying array of eggplant varieties and their heirloom tomatoes have made their way into more than one batch of GD’s guac.

These old railroad tracks always make me think about what this whole area was like when there were trains chugging on them. You know how sometimes you assign feelings to inanimate objects (just me?)? I wonder about these tracks – are they content in their retirement or do they wish they still served their original purpose?

Near the end of the run, guess who finally came out to play? Happy Wednesday, sun!

What did you see on your run today?

Did you travel/ do you have plans to travel this summer? Where to?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 Comments

Filed under What I Saw When I Ran Wednesdays

6 responses to “What I Saw When I Ran Wednesdays

  1. Linda Kisiel

    I saw a bunch of deer and some of my new walking/running buddies. It was a beautiful sunrise. Leaving for Chincoteague, VA. Planning on running or outrunning the mosquitos.

  2. Meg

    Not sure it’s summer anymore…but definitely have travel plans for the fall! Can’t wait to see these sights on my runs in October! Until then, GA birding hotspots will have to do.

    As for what I saw when I ran…the most wonderful thing I see (and relish) on almost every run, is the smile I exchange with passing runners. This makes my soul happy every time.

    Ps- love you, Kash!

Leave a Reply

