What I Saw When I Ran Wednesdays

For those of you who read food blogs, you will often see a “What I Ate Wednesday” post. Same idea here, except it will be what I saw when I ran on Wednesdays.  So take a peek at what my orbs observed and then add your own experience!

Helllloooo gorgeous! What a morning! It was the kind of day that reminds you how much heat and humidity actually do impact you – even for a humidity lover such as myself, I have to admit that its absence this morning was a welcome reminder that I am not slow as molasses. It was a joy to look down at Garmy and see numbers that have been strangers as of late. I hope you got out for a run today because that was a true gift. Here’s what I saw:

2 points if you can name where you have heard this – “But keep a weather eye open, mates, and hold on tight… Thar be squalls ahead, and Davy Jones waiting for them what don’t obey.”

If you like craft fairs and lighthouses, the state park was the place for you today!

Got to run the paths at the state park, which I had not been able to do since spring because we close some of the access points to protect beach nesting birds this time of year. Sadly, their nesting season is wrapping up, but happily this sea of flowers welcomed me back!

Top of the morning to ya, favorite part of the trail, how I have missed you!

Love, love, love the sweet roadside stands this time of year.

If you find yourself on Lighthouse Ave on a Saturday morning, be sure to stop in this one for baked goods. They open at 10a and you best get there early because they are usually sold out by, oh, about 10:08a.

I reluctantly wrapped up my run and headed off to work where these amazing things happened: I got to see one of our banded piping plovers at 2-Mile Beach (who was banded in Stone Harbor), a nest we had given up for dead hatched a hail mary chick and, best of all, we got word that the  injured chick from Cape May Point SP nailed rehab and is releasable! And then I started to learn to knit, so everyone get ready for hats and scarves in your future (thanks Emily!! Knitting is even more fun than I thought it would be, esp messing up while chatting away with you and Christy). Perfect day 🙂

Hope to see all of you tomorrow at the Mug Run!

What did you do to enjoy today’s weather??

Do you pretend that you are a Princess when you run through a valley of flowers? Just me?

What is your favorite little place to stop on the side of the road near where you live?

6 Comments

Filed under What I Saw When I Ran Wednesdays

6 responses to “What I Saw When I Ran Wednesdays

  1. Emily

    i’m glad we didnt keep you up chatting too long and you got your blog post up and “running” :)!! scarves and hats and wool running socks… too much? loved it!

  2. Bel

    This is probably totally stupid for me to even guess because it’s probably wrong, but I feel like it’s on the pirate ride at Disney World….and now I feel ridiculous for even saying that.

    • That is 100% correct! Our fam went to Disney every yr as kids (my pop pop worked there) and that ride was a Kisiel favorite 🙂 2 points to you!! What you are going to do with these points, I have no idea. But they are yours nonetheless!! hmmm.. Cape Island Bucks, perhaps? Might have helped me come up with an idea here, Bel, thanks!!

  3. Linda Kisiel

    The quote is from Treasure Island, muppets or the original. also from pirates of the caribbean. I love running at green branch around what I call the bowl. I imagine i’m at Holmdel. My favorite roadside stand is weaver’s. I had a great run Wednesday. Low humidity.

Leave a Reply

