What I Saw When I Ran Wednesdays

For those of you who read food blogs, you will often see a “What I Ate Wednesday” post. Same idea here, except it will be what I saw when I ran on Wednesdays.  So take a peek at what my orbs observed and then add your own experience!

Decided to make it a two-a-day (this AM and the group run tonight)  since I am oddly enjoying the crazy humidity during my morning runs. Sure, I felt slow and was drenched within .1 mile of starting (ok, who am I kidding, I was drenched within seconds of walking out the door!) but there is just something so lovely about running on  a summer morning. I am trying to put my finger on exactly why something that should be so unpleasant is actually the opposite for me. I think it is a combination of a few things. The first is that I have been running on summer mornings for 20+ years and I think I just like feeling that connection to summers past. The second reason is a little harder to explain,  so bear with me. You know how in movies, they depict life in a way that doesn’t usually mirror reality? I remember watching all the John Hughes movies as a kid and thinking that was what high school was going to be like. Then I got there and it was like “huh? what is this??”cause it bore so little resemblance to what I expected. And man was I surprised to find out that there was no pouring rain or a chase through an airport before the first time I said the words “I love you”, lol.  But I feel like movies nail summer on the head – they convey the languid feeling, the hazy skies, the sound of insects abuzz, the sunbeams through trees …and as a movie lover, I think these morning runs make me feel a little like I am cruising through a movie set from Stand By Me or Man In The Moon or Fried Green Tomatoes. Does that make any sense?

This is what passes for a busy street in my neighborhood at the height of summer. Love!

Our post office, straight out of Mayberry (RIP Andy Griffith)

GD and I will never be able to afford a house here (and maybe that is a good thing considering sea level rise!) but if this place ever went up for sale, I might have to sell some organs or become a bank thief because it has been a favorite since I first saw it in 2001. I wonder if I pulled an Oprah and just knocked on the door and offered, oh, I don’t know, like $10 if they would sell it?

Cape May Red Store – the only business in Cape May Point. It was recently taken over by new owners and the store and restaurant are top notch! Definitely check it out!

My go-to turn around touch point at Sunset Beach. Oh, the breeze there was a delight today!

One run down and one to go! Come join us for round two tonight! Meet at the Cape May Point State Park entrance at 6 pm…. and bring a bathing suit cause this one is definitely going to be followed by a dip in the ocean!

Do you like summer running?

What is something that others find unpleasant that you like to do?

Favorite movie with summer as a backdrop?

What did you see on your run today? If no run, what did you see while out and about?

2 Comments

Filed under What I Saw When I Ran Wednesdays

2 responses to “What I Saw When I Ran Wednesdays

  1. Bel

    I love the way you describe summer and I completely agree that I love the connection to summers past – it’s how I feel every time I enter a pool or a water park 🙂 Also, you mentioned 3 of my favorite movies. Kudos!

Leave a Reply

