What I Saw When I Ran Wednesdays – Brazil Edition!

For those of you who read food blogs, you will often see a “What I Ate Wednesday” post. Same idea here, except it will be what I saw when I ran on Wednesdays.  So take a peek at what my orbs observed and then add your own experience!

The internet has been spottier here than I expected, so apologies for the lateness of this post!

I got my independence on at Monte Alegre Estate with a run on their property this morning. It was breathtaking – the kind of run that makes you giddy from the OD of eye candy. I love to run when I travel and one reason is that you can be far, far from home and yet sill feel connected to a new place with the familiar action of putting one foot in front of the other. Monte Alegre was a spectacular place and although I tried to capture that below, you all know that pictures never do a place justice. So look at these , then imagine it a thousand times prettier, with super fresh air and perfect temperatures (50s at night, 70s during day and no sign of the dreaded humidity folks in the northeast are suffering through!). Yeah, it was pretty ridiculous.

Misty morning – where are the dinosaurs??

It felt other worldly in the “just before the sun rises” dawn

“Wowies” was my deep thought of the day.

Monte Alegre has about 20% of its property in preservation, as per Brazilian law. Here’s how it looked before the sugarcane and coffee (well, maybe not that far back as this is likely not virgin growth, but still counts as lovely forest!)

Looking back down to where I ran from – I was actually enjoying the hill work!

Blue skies have been the theme of the trip! Lucky dogs – apparently two weeks ago, the skies opened and it rained for days.

Coffee “cherries” (as our guide Jose Francisco described them) on the very beginning of their journey to your morning cup.

Kashi’s shadow bids you good morning!

5 Comments

Filed under What I Saw When I Ran Wednesdays

5 responses to “What I Saw When I Ran Wednesdays – Brazil Edition!

  1. Beautiful!!! What an awesome experience:)

  2. Becky Sharkey

    Very cool!! Did you hug that tree?

  3. Pingback: End of the World “Big Year”! | Cape Island Runners

Leave a Reply

