What I Saw When I Ran Wednesdays

For those of you who read food blogs, you will often see a “What I Ate Wednesday” post. Same idea here, except it will be what I saw when I ran on Wednesdays.  So take a peek at what my orbs observed and then add your own experience!

Wednesday we headed to Olney, MD for a lil family reunion with the Davis clan. We went to see GD’s aunt, uncle and cousins, some of who he has not seen in a decade or more, and many who I have never met.  To avoid the Philly, DC and Baltimore traffic, we decided to take the first ferry of the day, which left port at  730a. Early morning run it was! I didn’t mind a bit though as this time of year I habitually get up at first light, and the chorus of birds inviting me to get up and out had me popping out of bed around 5. Here are some of the things I saw in my almost hour long jaunt around Cape May Point and West Cape May between 530a-630a this morning:

Cape May Lighthouse – light is still flashing its beacon on this cloudy, windy morning. After running in it’s constant presence for the last 9 months, this lighthouse has started to symbolize home for me.

Not to runners!

Good morning skimmies! Black skimmers, a state endangered species, enjoying the quiet of a Cape May morning.

This is what I saw when I looked down, as I often do when running 🙂

Is there anything cuter than this car??

The straight shot down Sunset Blvd is going to come in very handy for long intervals and tempos runs during marathon training later this summer!

Milkweed jungle on Seagrove will hopefully be a nursery to monarch eggs and caterpillars very soon (if not already)!

An hour later and the light is off, sea farers safe for another day.

I got back to the house a half hour before we had to leave to find GD languorously waking up. He proceeded to shower and shave at a luxurious pace, while I clucked around the house like a crazed chicken, worried that we’d miss our ferry. As he predicted, we made it with time to spare and I was finally able to exhale!

What did you see on your run Wednesday?

If you are not a runner, what was something you saw while being active on Wednesday?

 

11 Comments

Filed under What I Saw When I Ran Wednesdays

11 responses to “What I Saw When I Ran Wednesdays

  1. I wish I would have known that you were looking for my observations on Wednesday…I would have paid more attention. But this is roughly what I saw on Wednesday:
    Zoe sleeping in her crib, so snuggly that I didn’t want to wake her.
    Eighth grade students so excited about the end of the year that they were visibly vibrating in their seats.
    🙂
    Love you

    • I seriously remember that end of the year feeling! Nothing quite matches it as an adult – you are living a life based on freewill and I think that really makes a difference. That feeling of have to do things when adults told you too was the worst thing about being a kid, but the feeling at the end of the school year? the best!

  2. Meg

    I did not run on Wednesday (not yet allowed to run two days in a row), but on Tuesday, just as I set out, the sky opened up and poured down rain, in huge droplets. The raindrops were so big, they splashed into little teacups when they hit the ground. It was a warm summer rain and I was loving every minute of it. As I trudged up and downhill, I laughed out loud as they rain poured down.

    • nothing better than a summer run! any other season, running and rain can be a miserable combo, but the summer means nothing but fun! jealous of that. can’t wait for my first summer rainy run!

  3. Becky Sharkey

    As it is Friday and not Wed, I’ll pretend that it is! On our trail walk along the creek today we saw butterflies (white and yellow, although I think they were moths). Brenna tried chasing after them and was funny to watch as she realized she couldn’t get near one, dragonflies, water bugs, a mallard duck momma with little ducklings, 7 other brown ducks (again Brenna wanting to run into the creek to chase them), 2 wooden bridges, lots of robins and other birds, plus daisies and other foliage! It was a perfect little “hike”. Next week, I’ll make sure we do a nature outing on Wed!

    • becks, i love that you are passing your love of the outdoors to brenna! one day maybe she will make a friend, run track with her and spend hours tooling around a state park instead of doing track repeats 🙂

  4. Becky Sharkey

    That is my biggest hope for her; I pray she finds herself a Kashi!

  5. Claudia

    Completely unrelated to the post (well, sort of), I am in shock and awe that you did this run before driving the 5 hrs to MD. Kudos to you.

Leave a Reply

